Banjo Ben

Doin' My Time

Do you want to share breaks and licks you have come up with? Or maybe you want to seek a little help coming up with something. Inquire within.

Doin' My Time

Postby ldpayton » Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:43 am

I worked up TR's "Doin' My Time" this week.

Doin' My Time.tef
(2.08 KiB) Downloaded 236 times

phpBB [video]

Guitar Break at 2:52
Larry
ldpayton

Re: Doin' My Time

Postby mreisz » Sat Jun 06, 2015 1:06 pm

Thanks Larry! I am a computer programmer, so you wouldn't think I'd get tech awe very often, but sometimes things just hit me. It is incredibly useful that instead of writing this stuff out on a piece of paper, you can spend the same amount of time putting it into a program complete with ornaments, dynamics, even a backing track. You can easily share it, play it back, loop a section, speed it up, slow it down. TablEdit may not be the sexiest interface around, but that is one incredibly useful tool for a musician.
Mike

I stayed up all night to see where the sun went. Then it dawned on me.
mreisz

Postby TNTaylor414 » Sat Jun 06, 2015 3:45 pm

That my song right there! Love that intro and how he ends it with the F-C-G chord lick at the end there. And that lick at 1:36 - 1:37. So good.

That jazzy Tony Rice chord I was trying to figure out in the alternate chord thread was from this song.

Chord at 3:22 - 3:25

phpBB [video]
Shawn
TNTaylor414

Postby ldpayton » Sun Jun 07, 2015 2:52 pm

TablEdit may not be the sexiest interface around, but that is one incredibly useful tool for a musician.

Yep! I learned the break without tabbing it, but I know in 6 months my memory will mutate it into something different, so I went back and created the tef file for future reference.

That first album of Tony's has so many of the licks that he became famous for, I think I might try to tab the entire album eventually, just as a lick reference.

even a backing track