Banjo Ben

Struggling with jam session

Ain't nothin' in the world like a 5-strang banjer...learn more about playing the banjo, and mingle with other like-minded players here!

Struggling with jam session

Postby skunk » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:12 pm

So I'm brand new to playing music and I got my banjo last October. I play it every day and have been getting better playing solos from Ben's site (you may have seen some of the videos I posted recently). In order to properly round out my playing, I want to be able to play with others so I've also been practicing Ben's backup lessons and I recently started going to a jam group.

Unfortunately, the jams thus far have felt like an exercise in frustration and futility. I struggle to keep up with the basic melody and am not remotely close to being able to play a break on my own in the group even though I could play one by myself if it was one of those I practiced from Ben. I don''t know exactly what it is but I have a lot of trouble getting the chord progression down. Also, we tend to work off a song book but then some more experienced players there will switch things up and play in a different key -- then I'm totally lost. Most of the time I'm just sitting there for 2 hours playing the same chord and barely ever getting the chord changes right. I could go on but you can probably sense my frustration...

What else should I do? The current group jam option I have is not working for me. Should I just try playing along to Ben's backup tracks? I have basically done nothing with those that Ben provides. Perhaps I'm answering my own question here and just venting but I'm curious what other input folks have.

Thanks!
skunk

Re: Struggling with jam session

Postby mreisz » Wed Jun 07, 2017 3:30 pm

I love the fact you are stepping out to play with others early! You don't have to be Earl to make some enjoyable music.