Banjo Ben

Time to Put it To Use

This forum is for music theory. Got questions or answers about music theory? put em here.

Time to Put it To Use

Postby Oldhat » Wed Aug 01, 2012 11:52 am

Well it's official, post away on questions. I'm an "intermediate" myself on theory but can help the beginner.

I have a question and that is about the Diminished 7th in the major scale, anyone care to elaborate on where that gets used if anywhere? Isn't changing the major 5th to a 7 chord the same as playing the diminished chord? For instance if I am majoring in G and in my progression I go to a D chord then I go to the D7 before going back to G...isn't that D7 the same as an F#dim?

Please explain this diminished chord for me and it's application.

Oldhat
Oldhat

Re: diminished chord

Postby fiddlewood » Wed Aug 01, 2012 12:13 pm

from Answers.com:

Diminished chords are very cool, and easy to understand. Diminished chords serve a cadential function just like a dominant 7. Let's look at a dominant 7 chord construction in the key of C:

In the key of c the dominant chord would be a G

Chord tones: G B D

T make it a dominant 7 add the F:

Chord Tones: G B D F

look at the diminished chord in the key of C which would be a B Diminished:

Chord tones: B D F

To make it a diminished 7 or a minor 7b5 which is how it is most commonly referred to add the a

Chord tones: B D F A

Read more: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_d ... z22JcrwT48
fiddlewood

Re: Time to Put it To Use

Postby Oldhat » Wed Aug 01, 2012 1:57 pm

Um so in the case of majoring out of C then you could call the D minor a Bdim if add in a B to it?

I am still a bit lost on this diminished chord in the major scale and it's use....has anyone every used it in a song before? What genres does the diminished chord show up in or where does it raise it's head at?